Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
3,133,750 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 Rautavaara WorldOrchestra - Puukko

Stunning vocals and guitar solos, melodic styles of ancient singing combined with heavy rock, the Finnish kantele used in a completely new way, jazzy oriental winds and an incredible cast of famous Finnish musicians painting the soundscape.

10 MP3 Songs
ROCK: Euro-Rock, FOLK: Alternative Folk

The new Rautavaara WorldOrchestra/RWO album “Puukko” by Finnish songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and –vocalist Markojuhani Rautavaara is an impressive demonstration of his talent. The soundscape of “Puukko” is a collage and its foundation is the Kalevala* tradition rooted in Karelia.

As musician, singer and composer Markojuhani Rautavaara has already become a concept in Finland. His career began as a rock star and with the LP „Overdose“ he had a major deal with CBS. For the son of the most appreciated composer worldwide of contemporary classical music Einojuhani Rautavaara musical boundaries do not exist, which specially becomes evident in his most recent production.

“Puukko” combines a great variety of ethno sounds with modern rock music. Rautavaara integrates melodic styles from ancient singing, Pietist hymns and Yoik (a Lappish chant) to progressive heavy rock. The sound is enriched by instruments like kantele (Finnish zither), cello and didgeridoo.

The CD is clearly thematic and has a thoroughly considered storyline. Rautavaara attaches strong personal experiences to the Kalevala tradition and he fluently uses his own as well as traditional lyrics side by side. The Curse of Firewater forms the beginning of a multidimensional story that ends in the peaceful reconciliation of the title song “Puukko”.

On his album Rautavaara himself plays about 20 different instruments. Accompanying musicians include Sakari Kukko of Piirpauke (oriental wind instruments), Susan Aho of Värttinä (accordion and vocals), Miri Miettinen / Ben Granfelt Band (drums and percussions), Masa Maijanen / Gringos Locos (bass), Muta Manninen / Wishbone Ash (guitar) and Tipe Johnson / Leningrad Cowboys (backing vocals).

* The Finnish National Epic

People who are interested in should consider this download.
File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2022
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit