Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
3,201,820 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 Andrew King & Brown Sierra - Thalassocracy

English traditional songs performed by Andrew King [Sol Invictus, The Triple Tree] with experimental arrangements by the art group Brown Sierra, utilising analogue electronics, Musique concrète, and homemade tone generators.

13 MP3 Songs in this album (70:21) !
Related styles: FOLK: Traditional Folk, ELECTRONIC: Experimental

People who are interested in Current 93 Sol Invictus should consider this download.

Thalassocracy consists of songs Andrew King usually performs unaccompanied, mainly of a nautical theme. They were initially recorded as unaccompanied performances in late 2006, after which the Art group Brown Sierra constructed suitable arrangements for each song, from which they and King, in close collaboration, devised final arrangements over the subsequent 18 months.

This is an unashamedly "difficult" album, an experiment that includes field recordings, Musique concrète, and home made tone generators, the 70 minutes of which (consisting of four instrumentals, six arranged songs and one unaccompanied song) add up to what is probably the most left-field album of traditional songs in existence!

Nonetheless, it was not the artists'' intention that this release should simply be an exercise in experimentation for experimentations sake, but rather that its should be an exercise in seeing what could be produced by the happy combination of two conceptual artists – who have a knowledge and understanding of vernacular culture – working in close collaboration with an expert in traditional song, who has a knowledge of, background in, and understanding of experimentation. As such it is a release that avoids such glib categorisations as experimental, improve., traditional, folk, or neofolk.

The running order is as follows with [i] denoting an instrumental, and [u] an unaccompanied song –

01. HMS Advance [i] 2:47
02. Nancy of Yarmouth 7:05
03. Banks of Green Willow 5:18
04. The Good Luck Ship 4:01
05. Polly on the Shore 7:40
06. HMS Resolution [i] 3:37
07. Nelson''s Death [u] 5:49
08. HMS Audacious [i] 5:23
09. The Captains Apprentice 5:33
10. The Dark Eyed Sailor 5:00
11. The Bold Princess Royal 5:20
12. The Bonnie Bunch of Roses 8:30
13. HMS Defiant [i] 4: 21
Total time: 70: 26

The CD was mastered by Hunter Barr at Retina II studios

File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2023
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit