Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
3,167,195 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 The Gilliam Section - Solus

Atmospheric guitar loops and electronics fusing world music, progressive rock and hypnotic beats with an ambient cinematic and soundtrack feel.

18 MP3 Songs in this album (51:32) !
Related styles: NEW AGE: Ambient, NEW AGE: Spiritual

People who are interested in King Crimson Brian Eno Robert Fripp should consider this download.

Solus by The Gilliam Section

Released 2nd April, 2009 on CD and Download.

The Gilliam Section is a Texas based avant-rock band. They fuse ambient music and ethno-beats within rock structures with and provide an adventurous, improvisational, abstract sound.

The title of their latest album "Solus", reflects their exploration and interest in sonic collage, found sounds, soundscapes and, non-traditonal song forms and non-sequiturs.

"Solus" opens with the thematic soundscape, "Habitual", which percolates over a bed of multi-tracked guitar-swells. Later, on the dynamic "Landscape", Willard and Marcell trade guitar signatures and stick modalities with a skittering rhythm section,whilst "Trumble" and "Solus" move trumblingly from a minimalist groove, to a coda ("Habitual Grace")... a meditation of guitar picking par excellence.

These sonic soundscapes are a feature of "Solus", culled from different recordings at different venues (mostly the homes of the musicians themselves!) the album is as sonically varied as it is stylistically - a subterranean jam oozes out of an urban field.

In short, "Solus" is a restless explosion of concepts and ideas with roots in post-punk, free improvisation and 70''s German experimentalism - a layered album of hidden depths that rewards repeated playing- its obliquities balanced by solid songwriting and adventurous musicianship.

The Gilliam Section is
Will Willard (bass, engineering, Guitar, Stick, Lap Steel, Keys/Synth, Loops/Samples,
Hardware, Software, Nowhere, Nokia i570) has played guitar and bass with countless bands since 1982 including Entropics, Red Square, Paul is Dead, Sparky the Mailman and Jack Acid.

John Marcell (NST Guitars, Loops, Effects, bass, piano, Tape Noise, Technical Ops of a Liberal Variety, Occasional Silence, and other instruments) has spent the last thirty years working with notable groups such as Entropics, Pulsating Love Flower, Debris,and Paul is Dead encompassing the sort of experimentalism and noise that he now gives vent to in The Gilliam Section.

Other Contributors include
Robert Scott Potter (Drums), Tony Garza (NST Guitars), Sylvie Walder (Piano, Keyboards, Field Recordings), Moon (Welson Globetrotter Organ, Synth, Bass), Eva Di Orio (Vox), Alessandra Celletti (Piano), James H. Sidlo (Baritone Guitar, Loops & Processing), Hyperbubble (Beats/Loops), Roger Linn (Guitar, AdrennaLinn Effect)

File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2022
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit