Sold by music on Tradebit
The world's largest download marketplace
3,090,177 satisfied buyers
Shopper Award

MP3 Andy Arnold Trio - Eleven Windows

Guitar/Jazz-Rock/Power Trio

11 MP3 Songs
JAZZ: Jazz-Rock

Show all album songs: Eleven Windows Songs

If you think Jazz-Rock is so yesterday, you haven''t heard this band! What you get is indeed lots of odd meters and long, worked out compositions, so you might think "Ok, another bunch of guys who only want to show off", but watch out! This band has taste, it grooves pretty hard and luckily thery are young enough to have missed out the ''slick 80''s fusion'' experience.

"Eleven Windows" is Andy Arnold''s second album as a leader. All tracks feature his regular Amsterdam based Trio with norwegian Magnus Skovdahl on electric bass and young dutch Philippe Lemm on drums. Besides that "Eleven Windows" has a few surprises such as guest guitarist Leni Stern on the mellow "Leaving Places" (in 11/8) that also features a woodwind trio (oboe/clarinet/bass clarinet). On "Ferran Pisa Gaia" tabla player Niti Ranjan Biswas joins the trio which makes the whole thing sound a bit like Shakti-on-LSD. Psychedelia is present throughout the album: spacey loops, fuzzy guitars and especially the spacey album outro "...into the sonic sun" that features german jazz pianist Pär Lammers on wailing hammond organ.

Guitarist Andy Arnold who wrote all the music and produced the album impresses with a wide spectrum of tasteful guitar playing: from crispy strat to twangy tele sounds, in-the-pocket-funk, modern jazz lines, weird analog sound scapes, reverse guitars and loops to fuzzy leads and slide guitar. You might here some John McLaughlin, Wayne Krantz, Hendrix or Robben Ford here and there but he steadily maintains his own style and his compositions rather give the impression to be inspired by the ones of piano trios (Hiromi is obviously a big influence) or even classical music: Arnold tries to get the most out of the simple trio setting, for example by writing counter or lead lines for the bass and having solo sections for each instrument. This band is far away from the regular power trio where the rhythm section’s only there to back up the flashy frontman. Besides the fact that Arnold wrote all the material, this band seems to be very equally balanced when it comes to the actual playing.

Produced by Andy Arnold

Andy Arnold - Guitar
Magnus Skovdahl - Bass
Philippe Lemm - Drums

special guests:
Leni Stern - Guitar
Niti Ranjan Biswas - Tabla
Par Lammers - Organ
Sandra Simon Monje - Oboe
Andreas Boehlen - Clarinett
Tini Thomsen - Bass Clarinett

Recorded in Duesseldorf, Germany April 2007 by Sebastian Krueger
Additional recording in New York & Amsterdam
File Data

This file is sold by music, an independent seller on Tradebit.

Our Reviews
© Tradebit 2004-2021
All files are property of their respective owners
Questions about this file? Contact music
DMCA/Copyright or marketplace issues? Contact Tradebit